FLORIDA MINIMUM WAGE INCREASE 2019

Kohl & Company
Jan 03, 2019

FLORIDA MINIMUM WAGE INCREASE 2019 The 2019 minimum wage in Florida is $8.46 per hour, effective January 1, 2019, with a minimum wage of at least $5.44 per hour for tipped employees, in addition to tips. Every employer of employees subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act's minimum wage provisions must post, and keep posted, a notice explaining the Act in a conspicuous place in all of their establishments so as to permit employees to readily read it.

FLORIDA MINIMUM WAGE INCREASE 2019

The 2019 minimum wage in Florida is $8.46 per hour, effective January 1, 2019, with a minimum wage of at least $5.44 per hour for tipped employees, in addition to tips. Every employer of employees subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act's minimum wage provisions must post, and keep posted, a notice explaining the Act in a conspicuous place in all of their establishments so as to permit employees to readily read it.

You may download a free poster from Florida Department of Economic Opportunity. Paste this link in your browser to get yours: http://www.floridajobs.org/business-growth-and-partnerships/for-employers/display-posters-and-required-notices.

 An employer may not retaliate against an employee for exercising his or her right to receive the minimum wage. An employee who has not received the lawful minimum wage after notifying his or her employer and giving the employer 15 days to resolve any claims for unpaid wages may bring a civil action in a court of law against an employer to recover back wages plus damages and attorney’s fees, and if the employer loses, they may owe you up to three times the damages. Contact a labor attorney for more information.

An employer found liable for intentionally violating minimum wage requirements is also subject to a fine of $1,000 per violation, payable to the state. The Attorney General or other official designated by the Legislature may bring a civil action to enforce the minimum wage.

 

Credit for Image to WTXL